Skip to main content

Past Calendar (2020-2021)

Fall Semester 2020 (August 19 Start Date)

Incorporating Common Dates

The following programs will follow the August 19 start-date schedule and weeks of instruction for Fall 2020:

  • All Professional Programs (MD, Dentistry, Physical Therapy, PharmD, Law) 
  • Online Graduate Programs 
  • Graduate Programs (Only - Occupational Therapy, Athletic Training, Pathology Assistant) 
  • Beckley and Keyser campuses

Monday, August 17 - General Registration

Wednesday, August 19 - On Campus First Day of Classes 

Tuesday, September 1 - Last day to Register, Add New Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit

Monday, September 7 - Labor Day Recess: University Closed
 
Friday, October 2 by noon - Mid-Check Grades Due
 
Tuesday, November 3 - General Election Day: University Closed
 
Friday, November 20 - Last Day Face to Face Instruction

Monday, November 23 and Tuesday, November 24 - Online Instruction 

Wednesday, November 25 through Sunday, November 29 -  Fall Recess:  Students Leave Campus Until Spring 2021 Semester;  Fall 2020 Semester Resumes Monday, November 30  

Monday, November 30 through Friday, December 4 - Week of Online Instruction
 
Friday, December 4 - Last day of Classes
 
Friday, December 4 -  Last Day to Drop a Class and Last Day to Withdraw from the University 

Monday, December 7 through Friday, December 11- Final Exam Week
 
Saturday, December 19 - Virtual Commencement Ceremony
 
Saturday, December 19 - Winter Recess Begins  

Fall Semester 2020 (August 26 Start Date)

Incorporating Common Dates

The following programs will follow the August 26 start-date schedule and weeks of instruction for Fall 2020:

  • Undergraduate Programs (Online and On-Campus)
  • On-Campus Graduate Programs

Even with the later August 26 start date for some students, all programs will still provide the 15 instructional weeks as required for regional accreditation. For programs following the August 26 start date, the week following Thanksgiving will now be considered a week of instruction rather than a review week. 

Monday, August 24 - General Registration 

Wednesday, August 26 - On Campus First Day of Classes

Tuesday, September 1 - Last day to Register, Add New Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit 

Monday, September 7 - Labor Day Recess: University Closed 

Tuesday, October 13 by noon - Mid-Check Grades Due 

Tuesday, November - General Election Day: University Closed 

Friday, November 20 - Last Day Face to Face Instruction  

Monday, November 23 and Tuesday, November 24 - Online Instruction

Wednesday, November 25 through Sunday, November 29 -  Fall Recess:  Students Leave Campus Until Spring 2021 Semester;  Fall 2020 Semester Resumes Monday, November 30  

Monday, November 30 through Friday, December 4 - Week of Online Instruction 

Friday, December 4 - Last day of Classes 

Friday, December 4 - Last Day to Drop a Class and Last Day to Withdraw from the University

Monday, December 7 through Friday, December 11 - Final Exam Week 

Saturday, December 19 - Virtual Commencement Ceremony 

Saturday, December 19 - Winter Recess Begins 

Spring Semester 2021

Friday, January 15 - General Registration

Monday, January 18 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Recess: University Closed

Tuesday, January 19 - On Campus First day of Classes

Monday, January 25 - Last day to Register, Add New Courses, Make Section Changes, Change Pass/Fail and Audit

Thursday, February 11 - No Classes – Non-Instructional Day

Tuesday, March 2 - No Classes – Non-Instructional Day

Wednesday, March 3 - No Classes – Non-Instructional Day

Friday, March 12 by noon - Mid-Check Grades Due

Friday, April 2 - Spring Holiday: University Closed

Monday, May 3 - Last Day to Drop a Class and Last Day to Withdraw from the University

Monday, May 3 - Last Day of Classes (Morgantown campus only)

Tuesday, May 4 through Saturday, May 8 - Final Exam Week

Friday, Saturday and Sunday, May 14, May 15 and 16 - Commencement

Summer Semester 2021

Monday, May 17 - Registration

Monday, May 17 - On-Campus First Day of Classes

Monday, May 31 - Memorial Day Recess: University Closed

Friday, June 25 - Final Exam for First Six-Week Session

Monday, July 5 - Independence Day Recess: University Closed

Friday, August 6 - Final Exam for Second Six-Week Session and 12-Week Session

Friday, August 13 - Degree Conferring Date (No Ceremonies)